The House of Representatives passed a $1 trillion infrastructure bill on Friday night. The passage comes after multiple delays.

Context: The bill was negotiated and approved by a group of bipartisan senators over the summer. Despite being passed by the senate, infighting amongst House Democrats caused delays.

The bill which reauthorizes federal infrastructure programs for 5 years invests in roads, bridges, and rail. Along with the reauthorization, the bill will also pour another $550 billion into infrastructure.

Now, the bill will now travel to President Biden’s desk for his signature.

Why This is Important: Infrastructure was a key piece of the Biden agenda. Despite opposition from House Minority leader Kevin McCarthy, the bill passed 228-206 with the support of 13 republicans.

Who are They:

The 13 republicans that broke ranks and voter for the measure are:

  • Brian Fitzpatrick – Pennsylvania
  • Don Bacon – Nebraska
  • Andrew Garbarino – New York
  • Adam Kinzinger – Illinois
  • Nicole Malliotakis – New York
  • Anthony Gonzalez – Ohio
  • David McKinley – West Virginia
  • Tom Reed – New York
  • Chris Smith – New Jersey
  • Don Young – Alaska
  • Fred Upton – Michigan
  • John Katko – New York
  • Jeff van Drew – New Jersey

6 Democrats votes in opposition

  • Ilhan Omar – Minnesota
  • Cori Bush – Missouri
  • Rashida Tlaib – Michigan
  • Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez – New York
  • Jamaal Bowman – New York
  • Ayanna Pressley – Massachusetts

Background: The bill passed the Senate in August 69-30. The major hangup was House progressives holding the bill hostage in order to get items on their wish list.

However, progressives caved in exchange for House moderates agreeing to vote on Biden’s $1.75 trillion Build Back Better Act without changes by November 15th.

What they are saying:

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook!

(Visited 2,300 times, 1 visits today)