A Washington DC jury reached a verdict on Thursday involving the Proud Boys and their actions during the Jan. 6th riots. Enrique Tarrio, one of the leaders was found guilty of seditious conspiracy. Three other members were also convicted of conspiring to overturn the presidential election and stop Joe Biden from taking power.

The other three members of the Proud Boys were Ethan Nordean, Joe Biggs, and Zachary Rehl. The additional charges to which all four were found guilty included  obstruction of an official proceeding, conspiracy to prevent an officer from discharging any duties, obstruction of law enforcement during civil disorder, and destruction of government property.”

According to The Hill:

Tarrio was convicted alongside Ethan Nordean, Joseph Biggs and Zachary Rehl, who led chapters in Washington, Florida, and Pennsylvania, respectively.

Tarrio’s guilty verdict is especially significant as he was not present in Washington, D.C., the day of the attack, ordered by a judge to remain outside the city after being arrested just days prior in connection with burning a Black Lives Matter flag taken from a nearby church.

Like Oath Keepers leader Stuart Rhodes, who did not enter the Capitol but remained outside connected to other members via a walkie-talkie app, a jury deemed Tarrio’s involvement in the plot sufficient to justify the conviction for attempting to overthrow the government.

This verdict serves as a significant milestone in holding those responsible for the Capitol attack accountable. It also sends a strong message that seditious actions aimed at undermining democratic processes will not be tolerated. The outcome of this trial will likely have a ripple effect on future cases related to the insurrection, setting a precedent for how these cases will be prosecuted and punished.


(Visited 1,332 times, 1 visits today)