President Biden has rescinded travel restrictions on some African countries.

Background: In November, the Biden administration imposed travel restrictions on eight countries in Africa after doctors in Southern Africa discovered the contagious omicron variant.

These were the countries with travel restrictions:







-South Africa


Context: In the early days of Covid-19, President Trump made a decision similar to Biden’s and restricted travel from some Asian countries after the virus was first reported in Wuhan, China.

The media and Democrats accused Trump of being xenophobic for the move, while Biden received none of the same treatment.

What Happened: Now, Biden has nixed all travel restrictions despite huge spikes in Covid-19 cases across the country and a shortage of tests.

“Since I issued that proclamation, our Nation’s health officials, in collaboration with the South African scientists who originally reported the variant, have made substantial progress in understanding the Omicron variant,” Biden said in a proclamation rescinding the travel restrictions. 

“Importantly, scientific experts have determined that people who are vaccinated against COVID-19 are protected against severe disease and hospitalization from the Omicron variant,” Biden continued. “Moreover, the Omicron variant has now spread to more than 100 countries, and it is prevalent in the United States.” (per The Hill)

(Visited 5,324 times, 2 visits today)